Company News

Hanergy’s Chief Scientist Prof. Harry Atwater Wins William R. Cherry Award 2019

The world’s largest thin-film solar power solution company, Hanergy Thin Film Power Group, today announced that its US subsidiary Alta Devices’ co-founder and Hanergy Group Scientist, Prof. Harry Atwater, has been honored with IEEE 2019 William R. Cherry Award, one of the most distinguished awards in the solar photovoltaic (PV) energy industry. Prof. Atwater will receive the illustrious award at the 46th IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) Photovoltaic Specialists Conference to be held in Chicago, USA from June 16-21, 2019.

The William R. Cherry award, which is named in honor of William R. Cherry, a founder of the photovoltaic community, recognizes the individual engineers or scientists who have made significant contributions to the science and/or technology of PV energy conversion, with dissemination of substantial and important publications and presentations. Prof. Harry Atwater has been honored the award in recognition of his many and outstanding contributions to photovoltaic science and technology over more than 35 years.

Over the past three decades, Harry Atwater’s research topics have shown his passion for PV from his first paper forming silicon absorbers via zone-melt crystallization (1982) to his most recent on optics for spectral-splitting to achieve ultrahigh efficient modules. His contributions to both the science and technology of photovoltaics, as disseminated through PVSC and EDS, and his creativity are widely recognized and seemingly unbounded, evident in more than 450 publications. Equally remarkable, he co-founded six companies including ETC Solar (commercializing effectively transparent contacts), Luminescent Energy, and Alta Devices.

Mr. Zhang Bin, Senior Vice President of Hanergy Thin Film Power Group said, “We’d like to congratulate Prof Atwater on this distinguished honor and his outstanding accomplishments in the field of solar PV. As one of the most well-informed experts with foresight into the solar technology, Prof. Atwater’s invaluable contributions have been instrumental in achieving several breakthroughs in our core technology. He is Undoubtedly a worthy recipient of the Award and we are grateful for his commitment to Hanergy’s technological innovations. We will continue to stay at the forefront of technological breakthroughs and go all-out developing additional cutting-edge technologies.”

Prof Atwater’s honoring with this most respected award in the field of PV, is a resilient evidence of the global technology leadership of Hanergy’s Alta Devices in the field of photovoltaics. Atwater is also an early pioneer in Nanophotonics and Plasmonics. Under Atwater’s leadership Alta Devices has grown exponentially and holds the current world record for one-Sun single-junction solar cell efficiency and module efficiency.

Professor Atwater received his B. S., M. S. and Ph.D. degrees from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology respectively in 1981, 1983 and 1987. He held the IBM Postdoctoral Fellowship at Harvard University from 1987-1988 and has been a member of the Caltech faculty since 1988.